Water Control Districts

Water Control Districts (WCD) can be proclaimed in areas where there is a need for close management of water resources. This is to avoid stressing groundwater reserves, river flows or wetlands. Legislation in Water Control Districts covers all aspects of sustainable water resource management including the investigation, use, control, protection and allocation. Water Control Districts have been declared for the Alice Springs, Daly Roper, Darwin Rural, Gove Peninsula, Great Artesian Basin, Tennant Creek, Ti Tree and Western Davenport regions. 

The following maps show the boundaries of each Water Control District.  

District Gazette  Notice
Northern Territory (All Districts)
Alice Springs 522Kb
Daly Roper 83kb
Darwin Rural 328Kb
Gove 90Kb
Great Artesian Basin 179Kb
Tennant Creek 132Kb
Ti Tree 52Kb
Western Davenport   159Kb

For further information contact the Water Resources Division on (08) 8999 4455 or email waterresources@nt.gov.au

Click here to get Adobe Reader PDF Logo This Adobe PDF document may require a newer version of Adobe Reader than you are currently using. Click here to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.